High Five For Friday! 12.13.13

13 Dec

Happy Friday the 13th! My week has been crazy busy, how about yours? I am definitely ready for a weekend of hot cocoa, peppermint ice cream and wrapping lots of presents.

High Five For Friday! 12.13.13

1. We spent last Saturday with some great friends and cheered on the Grinnell College basketball team. The game went into overtime 99-99, and Grinnell ended up losing by 6 points in the end (it was a nail biter!). You may have heard about their player, Jack Taylor, who scored a record-setting 138 points in just one game last season. He made it over 100 points in a game earlier this year, but their opponents on Saturday did a great job of shutting him down and he ended up with 40. They are a fun team to watch. I love living in a college town where there are always games and concerts and things going on. And it’s all free!

2. I am so excited for one of our stores here in Grinnell. Steph at Awards Unlimited is expanding her business and product line to include women’s clothing. Check out this cute chevron top I snatched up! It is fun to get to know small business owners and watch them grow and experiment with new things. I definitely think Steph found a niche that we are missing in our town.

3. I’ve started working on a custom design for this blog. I am really looking forward to working on it more this weekend (I know, I’m a dork). I purchased my own domain name (so I can drop ‘wordpress’ from my url) and this transition will allow me to completely customize my site. It is definitely a learning process, but I’m excited to show it to you in a few weeks! Stay tuned!

4. I have been playing on a co-ed volleyball team through Park & Rec this fall. We’ve had a lot of fun and even managed not to get last place this season! We are quite excited about that 😉 And no, they don’t consider me a spiker. (If you don’t know me, I am just barely 5 feet tall. Not really spiker material.)

5. It is freezing here in Iowa! Wednesday’s high was 6 degrees. I’ve spent much of my work week outside in our Central Park building an ice skating rink. Here’s a picture of my co-worker, Rachael, and I in front of our masterpiece. It was a lot of work, but fun to watch our team of volunteers make it come together. I’m excited to get out and test the ice in a couple days.

What was the highlight of your week? Have a fabulous weekend and stay warm!

One Response to “High Five For Friday! 12.13.13”

  1. Rosario Tapia December 13, 2013 at 4:14 pm #

    To Emily,      Hi there! thanks for the information about ladies basketball team. My daughter loves playing basketball, but unfortunately she got ligaments operations that have stop her from playing. The ladies work hard to bet the score. Anyway, Happy Holiday and blessed New Year to come to all.

    Respectfully,

    Rosario TApia

Leave a Reply

