Food, Games & Grandma’s House

4 Dec

I hope you all had a fabulous and relaxing Thanksgiving weekend. We were fortunate to both have four days off of work, so we had a chance to visit a lot of family. We were spoiled with so much delicious food with David’s family. David and I even introduced them to our new favorite meal, slow cooker chicken tortilla soup. We love the flavor, plus it is so simple that even the two of us can handle it. If you are interested in trying out the recipe you can find it over on the Miller Musings blog.

We went to the new Hunger Games movie, which I thought was fantastic. I loved the books and the movies have done a great job bringing them to life. Looking forward to the next movie! David and I are always in charge of bringing games to family gatherings, and our bag of games for this weekend included The Game Of Things, Outburst and Ticket To Ride. If you are looking for some new games to try, these are all great options. Things and Outburst are both fun party games for larger groups of people. Ticket To Ride is a strategy game that is a little more complex and will take more time, but this is a great place to start if you are looking for a different type of game than the same old party game or Milton Bradley game. It is a good introduction to a whole new world of strategy board games that my husband and his friends introduced me to a few years ago.

Outburst Game via The Small Stuff Counts Blog The Game of Things via The Small Stuff Counts Blog TicketToRide

After a couple days with David’s family in Ankeny, we trekked up to northeast Iowa. I was tickled that I got to spend all Saturday afternoon with my little  nephew Wyatt, who is seven months old. We raided my mom’s decorations and had a festive photo shoot. Here are a few of my favorites.

Baby Wyatt via The Small Stuff Counts Blog

Baby Wyatt via The Small Stuff Counts Blog Baby Wyatt via The Small Stuff Counts Blog

It’s been a while since I have used my camera much for some reason, but I felt inspired to do more experimenting with photography in the months ahead. If you’re interested, you can check out the Frame Not Included photo-a-day blog I did a couple years ago. I added a few at the beginning of 2013, but just didn’t ever get back in the habit. Hmm, maybe I’ll try a photo of the week post on this blog. What do you think?

A holiday with my family is never complete without a gathering of all of my extended family that are in the area. The cool thing about my dad’s family is that all but one of his five siblings lives within a 15-mile radius of my grandma’s house, which allowed my cousins and I to spend a ton of time together growing up so we are all really close. Out of 18 grandkids, there are only 5 boys but one of them pointed out that the number of boys continues to grow as us girls all start bringing boyfriends along and getting married. Our clan is also starting to grow with the addition of a few babies, which makes things even more exciting. Now the boys are hoping all future babies are boys so that one day they will outnumber us girls. I am looking forward to seeing the family again at Christmas and recreating this classic picture with the “big girl” cousins at Grandma’s House! (That’s me with the red collar on the right.)

Cousins via The Small Stuff Counts Blog

Leave a Reply

