High Five For Friday! 11.1.13

1 Nov

A post that is common among bloggers is a High Five For Friday. I really like this idea because it is a way to reflect on the past week and celebrate the good things that happened, both big and small. So, here goes my first official High Five For Friday post!

HighFive.11.1.13

1. I attended the Social Brand Forum in Coralville, Iowa, last week and learned so much. The speakers were all national experts in digital marketing, and they were very inspiring. I enjoyed meeting people from across the country–ranging from virtual marketing teams meeting in person for the first time to one-person teams at non-profits like me. It was a wide variety of people and a really educational and inspirational two days. I came home with lots of ideas and reading material.

2. I spent last weekend hanging out with my sisters. My sister Amy just moved to a new apartment in Cedar Rapids, so I wanted to go check it out. Those of you who know me know that I cannot stay awake late at night no matter what, my eyes just refuse to stay open. My sisters were up for hours after I fell asleep on the couch. I found this lovely picture of them on my phone the next day.

3. Amy, Molly and I did a little shopping too! I found this cheery yellow coat at Plato’s Closet. It’s the kind of coat that just requires you to smile while you are wearing it since it is sunshine yellow after all. The only problem with buying a bright coat is that there was no way to sneak it into the closet without my husband noticing. But it was a great deal!

4. David and I had a delicious meal at the Peppertree at the Depot Crossing tonight. The restaurant is in Grinnell’s old train depot, and it is gorgeous inside. It’s one of our favorite places to go for date night. Apparently the entire town decided it was date night since there is no football game, so it was busy. It actually reminded me of a family reunion more than a restaurant because everyone was walking around talking to other tables and waving across the room. That’s what you get when you live in a small town.

5. I finally started this blog! I’ve been pondering it in my head for quite a while, so it feels great to finally have it up and running. It is a little crazy to think that the whole world could read this, but there are so so many blogs out there that I’m really just hoping for a couple regular readers.

2 Responses to “High Five For Friday! 11.1.13”

  1. Allison November 2, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

    I want so badly to do High Five for Friday posts, but my blogging schedule doesn’t allow for it. Schucks the luck. I’m glad you are! I created a new version of High Five for Friday that works for me called, Memorable Moments of the Month.

  2. Peppertree Webmaster November 2, 2013 at 7:13 am #

    Emily,

    Great post, and thanks for the pingback to Peppertree!

Leave a Reply

